Wolf Prize

updated: 16.11.2015

The Wolf Prize is an award that has been granted in Israel since 1978 to distinguished scientists and artists from all over the world, in five fields: four from the scientific sphere (agriculture, chemistry, mathematics, physics and medicine), and one from the artistic sphere (music, architecture, painting and sculpture), on the basis of a regular rotation. The prize honors its recipients for their "achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among peoples [...] irrespective of nationality, race, color, religion, sex or political views." A sum of $100,000 is awarded in each specific field, and prize laureates are selected by an international professional panel that is appointed on a yearly basis.


Further information in the Web Site of the Wolf Foundation.


Wolf Prize







Wolf Prize recipients from the Faculty of Exact Sciences at Tel Aviv University:


Prof. Yakir Aharonov

Raymond & Beverly Sackler School of Physics & Astronomy

Wolf Prize in Physics, 1998


Prof. Ilya Piaterski-Shapiro

Raymond & Beverly Sackler School of Mathematical Sciences

Wolf Prize in Mathematics, 1990


Prof. Joshua Jortner

Raymond & Beverly Sackler School of Chemistry

Wolf Prize in Chemistry, 1988




Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>