2020 Nobel Prize in Physics

Given for Blackholes breakthroughs

2020 Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 will be shared by Roger Penrose "for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity", the other half jointly to Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez "for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.”


Popular Science Background


Local links:

Roger Penrose (University of Oxford, UK) shared with Stephen Hawking the 1988 Wolf prize for their Penrose–Hawking singularity theorems


Reinhard Genzel (Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, Germany and UC Berkeley, USA)  is closely collaborating with physicists at Tel Aviv U. (Hagai Netzer, Amiel Sternberg).


Andrea Ghez (UCLA, USA) is the fourth woman to win the Nobel prize in Physics  following Marie Curie in 1903, Maria Goeppert-Mayer in 1963, and Donna Strickland (2018). Interesting to mention that Ghez won the 2004 Tel Aviv University Sackler Prize in Physics "for her pioneering high-resolution infrared observations that provide evidence for, and establish the mass of, the supermassive blackhole in the center of the galaxy" . 


Congratulations to the three laureates!


Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>